Current List


List of Active Projects - Program for Entrepreneurs

As of August 2009

Note: Undergraduates that wish to join a project will need to contact the team leads, convince the team leads to add them to the project, and enroll by the add/drop deadline for this semester.

Projects Graduating with the Class of 2011

Currently starting NVC 1: Opportunity Evaluation

Biogenic - Cell Seeding Technology for Implantable Cardiovascular Devices

Cardiovascular disease is the leading cause of death in the United States.  Cell Seeding Technology is developing cutting edge technology that, using only a sample of blood, can create personalized medical devices that are specific to individual patients.  By coating cardiovascular implants (stents, heart pumps, etc.) with the patient’s own cells, we create a bio-compatible medical device that prevents the body’s immune system from recognizing and attacking the foreign implant.  This innovative technology will significantly reduce the incidence of serious implant-related complications, including heart attack, stroke, and death.
 
For more information, please contact Garrett Muramoto (garrett.muramoto@fuqua.duke.edu) or Sharon Kaplan (sharon.kaplan@fuqua.duke.edu) with a brief description of your skills and interests relevant to this project, and a copy of your CV.

Medici MedTech
Medical device to treat urinary incontinence 
Team Lead: Joe Knight '11
Contact joe.knight@fuqua.duke.edu


Charge - Battery Swap for Electric Rickshaws in India

Like Blue Rhino for propane gas tanks, this startup would provide exchangeable batteries for Electric Rickshaws
Team Leads: Amrut Dhumal '11 and Nick Donowitz '10
Contact amrut.dhumal@fuqua.duke.edu and nicholas.donowitz@duke.edu

General Nano

Spinning carbon nanotubes (lighter and stronger than steel) into electrically conductive thread for use in multiple industries.
Team Lead: Andrew Simon '11
Contact andrew.simon@fuqua.duke.edu

eCIRK - Immunization Records Depot

Create a central repository for all immunization records for easier tracking and handling
Team Leads: Shal Chowdhury '11 and Fred Kuo '11
Contact shal.chowdhury@fuqua.duke.edu and fred.kuo@duke.edu

OurEarth.org


Internet portal for environmental programs, activities, and general information 
Team Lead: John Ullman '11
Contact john.ullman@fuqua.duke.edu

Eye Innovations


Medical device to assist individuals with Glaucoma by draining the abundance of fluid in the eye
Team Lead: Roberto Alfaro '11
Contact roberto.alfaro@fuqua.duke.edu

25th Hour Media

            Turning online news and blog postings into audio content available on mobile devices
            Team Leads:  Sanjay Krishnamurthy '10, Adam Zwecker JD/MBA '10, Nick Sehn '11
            Contact  nick.sehn@fuqua.duke.edu


Greenhouse Foods

            Informational website for helping people with dietary restrictions find appropriate foods
            Team Lead: Brooke Henze '11, brooke.henze@fuqua.duke.edu


HIV protection pouch

Duke Engineering World Health (www.ewh.org) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide technical assistance on biomedical issues to health organizations in developing countries. They have developed a pouch to protect Nevirapine, so that those HIV+ mothers who give birth in rural villages can give the drug to their babies within 70 hours after birth.  As they are proceeding in the testing, mostly on the usability side, they are looking to write a business plan with the intention to either start up a local company of find a local partner to commercialize it.


Comments